Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#81027 - 09/04/04 07:21 PM Spanish for Native Speakers
marilisa Offline

Loc: Virginia (EE.UU.)
I'm a high school Spanish teacher and would like some input from any other teachers who are in my situation. In the past few years, quite a few students from Mexico and Central America have enrolled in my high school. Their knowledge of English is practically nil. Many are placed in Spanish classes with the rest of the student population but find it hard to follow because a lot of the instruction is done in English -- particularly in Spanish I and II. I'm also finding that although Spanish is their first language, they have difficulty reading and writing it properly. To make a long story short, I would like some information on materials and textbooks for native speakers in this situation. I'm thinking of proposing to my school administration the creation of a Spanish class for native speakers. Have any of you done this before? These students are placed in ESL and the usual core classes but I wanted to see what I could do to help them in this area. If anyone has any information -- personal experience, websites, textbook titles, etc.-- I would truly appreciate it.

Thanks,
marilisa

#81028 - 09/09/04 02:45 PM Re: Spanish for Native Speakers
Lonoma Offline

Loc: Sevilla, Spain.
Have a look at www.profes.net. It’s the website of Spanish Editorial SM. In Spanish.

Saludos

#81029 - 09/10/04 02:19 AM Re: Spanish for Native Speakers
virmonsal Offline

Loc: Southwest USA
Marislisa: