Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#73218 - 02/14/04 12:53 PM Madrid: Problem Meeting People
DanaD1966 Offline

Loc: Medford, Oregon USA
Hello,

I have been in Madrid for three weeks now as both a student and tourist. This is my first time in Spain, and I truly enjoy it. I´ve had a couple of unfortunate incidents, one of which included a man slapping me in the face to try and steal my cell phone. This occurred in Sol, but luckily, I got my phone before he did! The other involved a man on a motorcycle, who rode up on the sidewalk and stole the purse right off the shoulder of my friend. Fortunately, she didn´t have too many valuables in her purse. I have had so many more nice days than bad, that these situations truly will not ruin my experience.

My "problem" isn´t severe. I´m just finding it difficult to grasp the language, and miss talking in English with people close to my age! I´m probably a bit homesick! I am a young 37 year old, who doesn´t mix real well with the younger night-life! I´ve been out with my friends, and have had a great time, but miss my age-group! I enjoy food and drinks, but hate doing that alone. I´m not looking for romance, just wish to meet up with others who would enjoy saying hello. Especially from the US!

Is there a group that meets, or anyone interested in coffee, food, chat, etc.?

Thank you!
Dana

#73219 - 02/14/04 01:56 PM Re: Madrid: Problem Meeting People
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Hi DanaD1966!

Just "Put Out The Call" to get together here in the "Classifieds & Personals" section. I'm sure there are always people wanting to get together in Madrid, maybe make daytrips with you to Toledo or other nearby villages, and/or may not necessarily want to go clubbing.