Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#66057 - 11/29/00 12:19 AM Book on the fiestas of Spain
Bufanda Offline

Loc: Santan Barbara, CA 93110
Does anyone know any good books on the fiestas of Spain? If not, would anyone like to write one or pay me to write one? I'm a photographer and I have always wanted to do a big colorfull photo documentary on Las Fallas, ferias, romerias, Dia del los reyes, Carnival, San Fermin, Semana Santa, etc. and I need researchers, writers, people who know Spain and can contribute. Oh, and funds. How would you finance something like that if you are not independently wealthy and have already signed your life away to student loans?

Got some ideas on how to get something like this off of my life goals list and into Barnes and Noble? Think you got something valuable to contribute? Let me know.

#66058 - 11/29/00 05:50 AM Re: Book on the fiestas of Spain
Eddie Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Phila., PA, USA
An admirable pursuit that could extend to a lifetime's effort: Semana Santa, for example is not just in Sevilla. Some of the better processions are in Cordoba, Madrid and many pueblos across Spain. Carnaval is AnTroido in Galego - it's celebrated as much there in Galicia as in Cadiz. One must visit several times in order to sample each region's (and maybe even each specific locales's) types of celebrations. Santiago is Spain's Apostle. The feast day is most celebrated in Santiago de Compostela (mostly the 24th of July). But in Vigo, the main celebration takes place on Plaza de Compostela the morning of the 25th.
Lots of Luck!

#66059 - 11/29/00 12:15 PM Re: Book on the fiestas of Spain
Nicole Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Los Angeles
Got a deal for you. You take the pictures, and I will do the writing!! Seriously..