Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#65711 - 10/02/08 11:29 AM Dollar vs Euro
CascadaDuSel Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL (sometimes Madrid - ...
Does anyone have any links discussing the large fluctuation with the dollar vs euro rates lately? I wanted to discuss it in my class and I cant find any good articles to use... I am not sure what is going on but I like it!!

#65712 - 10/02/08 01:24 PM Re: Dollar vs Euro
steve robinson Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Hastings Old Town , England .
I worked as a trader in London's financial markets for nearly 20 years and we relied in 2 major news services : Reuters and Bloomberg ... Bloomberg has an analysis on:

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=aG0KZrYJ3eAk&refer=home

This one focuses more on the Euro than the dollar , but does cover the cross exchange .

I would definitely say that the only reason that the dollar is strong right now is that investors have no other option ( the devil you know ! ) . Currency and equity markets are in turmoil and the root is the US economy ( which traditionally leads all financial markets ) . The present administration in USA has , seemingly , mismanaged the economy and Wall Street on a monumental scale and it's going to take the new administration years to unravel it .
When I saw Lehman Bros go under it was complete shock ... They were so incredibly respected in all the financial centres .
It's difficult to call where the dollar goes but whilst this remains a global economic disaster ( and that's what it is ! ) investors will pile into the dollar as the best of the worst .
When I was in London we traders often questioned why the dollar was given such status , as the Euro and the Pound were more often stronger , but you can't get away with the fact that the USA economy is the most important in the world .

Cascadadusel - If you really want something more in depth I can e-mail some people in London for some websites .

Steve .