MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#61752 - 03/25/02 11:15 PM Need advice!
TheHype08 Offline

Loc: Illinois
Hello all,

I'm really stressing out here! I'm studying abroad in Madrid in ten days and I have to get in contact with my host family. I think I have to call them. My major is Spanish and I've taken almost 6 years of it, but I'm so insecure about it and I'm really scared to do this. How am I going to call them from the US with horrible Spanish without making a fool of myself???? Does anyone have any advice?
Thanks,
Jenn

#61753 - 03/25/02 11:40 PM Re: Need advice!
wyndyl Offline

Loc: Dallas, Texas
Hey Jen,
Just letting you know that you've got one up on me! I've taken 2 years of Spanish in high school and I'm visiting Spain for the first time-and alone!
Don't sweat it! With all you already know, it may be awkward, but it will all be fine... wink
I'm quite sure the rest of the board will agree with me... smile

Wendy

#61754 - 03/25/02 11:45 PM Re: Need advice!
taravb Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Ames, Iowa, USA
Hey, Jenn--
If you're really terrified, perhaps you can ask a Spanish-speaking friend or teacher to talk for you...or at least to introduce you on the phone. Talking on the phone in another language is, I think, the hardest test of your production and comprehension abilities!

Also, you'll be amazed at how quickly your Spanish will improve once you get there...and once you're not jet-lagged! We had a Spanish exchange student when I was in high school, and when we picked her up at the airport, we could have sworn the girl didn't speak a word of English. The next day, after a good sleep, she came out to breakfast almost fluent!!

So don't expect too much of yourself at first...give yourself time to adjust and don't be afraid to make mistakes!

Buena suerte!
Tara

#61755 - 03/26/02 04:23 AM Re: Need advice!
Wolf Offline

Loc: Rockford, IL/Milton, WI, USA
TH08,