Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#60582 - 07/22/01 10:38 PM Work in USA using Spanish?
GranadaGirl Offline

Loc: Maryland via Connecticut, USA ...
Hi all-

I'm looking for a job in which I can use my Spanish and my many business skills, in the US, preferably in the Washington DC or NYC areas. Does anyone have any leads or ideas?

I have my degree in Spanish, teaching certification for secondary Spanish, and 6 1/2 years business world experience (health insurance). I'd like to switch gears to something more internationally-focused, but I've been in a bit of a bind finding the right place to look.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Thanks,

GG

#60583 - 07/23/01 04:08 PM Re: Work in USA using Spanish?
Jaime Offline

Hi Granada Girl,
I graduated with Spanish and International Studies and am in the same postion...looking for a internationally focused job. One thing that I'm hoping to do is a post graduation internship with our state senator's home office working on immigration casework. I was suprised to learn you could do internships after you're out of school but it is possible. Another student that graduated in my class had done an internship like this and it really got her foot in the door with alot of big name international companies. I'm hoping it will do the same for me.
I would think though that with a degree in Spanish and your real world busineess experience, any international company would consider you for a sales/account support postion. It seemed like mnay times I was considered for jobs I normally wouldn't be just for being bilingual. I posted my resume directly on many of these copmpanies sites and had a pretty good response. Buena Suerte!!

#60584 - 07/23/01 08:28 PM Re: Work in USA using Spanish?
CaliBasco Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Idaho
You may want to consider a career in the government. I recently began work with the FBI as a linguist.