Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#58795 - 12/19/00 06:53 PM where should we begin trip?
bjs14kt@cs.com Offline

Loc: east moriches, N.Y. U.S.A.
My husband and I begin our adventure on Jan 31,01. we have 2 months to travel. Should
wtrae begin in Barcelona or Madrid? WE plan on seeing as much of Spain and Portugal as time will allow. And if I am brave enough entering into Moroccco. We travel strickly by rail, bus, or ferry. Suggestions welcomed.Please excuse typos I'm new to my computer!!!!

------------------

#58796 - 12/19/00 07:31 PM Re: where should we begin trip?
rgf Offline
Executive Member

Loc: New York, New York
Where does the plane go first? I'd start there! Madrid or Barcelona. You'll have time to see both major cities and a lot more.

#58797 - 12/20/00 06:29 AM Re: where should we begin trip?
El Boqueron Offline

Loc: UK
Assuming you do still have a choice of where you land, I would have to say start in Madrid. Barcelona is the capital of Catalunya, with its own language, and the Catalans are rather serious about asserting their cultural distinctness. Madrid is just, well, more "Spanish", as most vistors understand the idea. So for anyone looking for Spain (and given the importance of first impressions), I think it is the better place to start.

#58798 - 12/20/00 08:24 AM Re: where should we begin trip?
Eddie Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Phila., PA, USA
Two months - February & March: Try to include Carnaval in either Cadiz or Santiago de Compostela (where it is called AnTroido). We also travel mostly by public transit when in Spain - In September we took Continental- Auto Gran Clase bus Madrid-Santander & Alsa Clase Supra Santander-Bilbao. I recommend the former but not the latter (too short a trip to justify the extra expense).