Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#53623 - 01/15/03 12:52 PM Restaurant service in Spain
Tex-Mex Offline

Loc: USA
I have traveled to Madrid twice as well as in Andalucia and have been to many restaurants. I noticed that the Spanish waitstaff is not that friendly and cordial compared to other countries like here in the US and Latin America. We did have some excellent waiters and waitresses that gave us professional service, but in many ocasions the waitstaff was not very friendly and did not check back to our table to see if we needed anything.
Maybe this is due to the gratuity (tip) being included in the restaurant bill. Or maybe this is just the custom in many restaurants throughout Spain. I worked in the restaurant business for six years here in the Houston, Texas and I know when service is poor and I also know when it is good. So I'm curious to here any comments on this topic or maybe it's just me.

#53624 - 01/15/03 02:45 PM Re: Restaurant service in Spain
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
"Spain Is Different" wink

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#53625 - 01/15/03 03:10 PM Re: Restaurant service in Spain
Espe3 Offline

Tex-
It depends on what kind of restaurant... but for the most part waitstaff leaves you alone to enjoy your meal, and won't pester you ever 1min 30sec to make sure everything is ok. Its different, yes.. as far as gratuity included in the bill, not the norm. again depends on the rest. in Spain waiters get a regular pay, not pennies and then the rest to be made up in tips like in the US. If your looking for hand and foot service, try one of the am. chain restaurants, they're trained on the am. customs in that sense. Is it good or bad, well that's a matter of cultural differences and opinion.

#53626 - 01/15/03 03:25 PM Re: Restaurant service in Spain
taravb Offline