Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#53001 - 09/12/02 12:18 AM Weather in Granada
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
Its looking like I am hopefully going to be headed to La Universidad de Granada for next semester (Im keeping my fingers crossed wink ). Can anybody tell me what kind of weather to expect in Granada for January to around May? I know it is hot in the summer, but what about winter?

#53002 - 09/12/02 10:15 AM Re: Weather in Granada
GranadaGirl Offline

Loc: Maryland via Connecticut, USA ...
Congratulations!!!! Can I come?!

I was there from January thru May when I studied there myself. January can be fairly cold, although no snow normally, unless you go up to the Sierras. I think it gets down into the 40's or so, so you'll really need all kinds of clothing.

I can tell you that most of the homes (at least the ones who take in students) do NOT have central heat, so it can get very cold at night! They will have small heaters under I'd bring flannel pj's, at least 1-2 sweaters, a semi-warm jacket. If you plan on going up to the Sierra Nevada mountains, you'll need a winter coat/gloves/etc.

Once it hits May, it's very nice out, I remember for 'dia de la Cruz' which is 2 May, we even had shorts on!

If you need any more info, let me know!

-GG

#53003 - 09/12/02 01:44 PM Re: Weather in Granada
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
Thanks Granada Girl! I am starting to get very excited laugh Any other advice on Granada? I spent the summer in Bilbao, but have NO idea what to expect as far as andalucia goes. I know Granada is a smaller sized town... is there still a lot to do, movies, shopping, night-life etc? If there is no metro, how do you get all over the city? Is there a bus system or something? Any advice would be GREAT smile
~Kelly

#53004 - 09/12/02 02:10 PM Re: Weather in Granada
CaliBasco Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Idaho