Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#52131 - 04/05/02 01:05 PM Culture questions....
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I am studying abroad in Spain this summer, and currently taking a class that is supposed to help me prepare to adjust to life in Spain. I have to find the answers to the following quesions (I know, some are rather strange:) ....
1) What are local attitudes toward Americans?
2)What do you say when you answer the phone?
3) What will local reactions be to a language related "mistake"?
4)How do you initiate contact with strangers?
5)What titles do you use for elders?
6) How do you politely decline an offer?

Sorry this is so long, but I dont know where to find answers to these questions other then to ask people who have had first hand experience. ANY advice would be great:) Thanks!!

#52132 - 04/05/02 02:01 PM Re: Culture questions....
barry Offline

Loc: sóller, mallorca, spain
Here are some quick answers, or at least pointers in the right general direction:
1) Difficult one as it's a broad question. I recall a debate on the subject here, so do a search. You might find that Spaniards often consider North Americans as nice, friendly and outgoing, albeit a bit naive and innocent.
2) ¿si?; ¿Diga?; Dime (at home - it's different in business.
3) Spaniards are tolerant in this respect, and despite your mistakes will probably compliment you on your Spanish. Humorous faux pas will be laughed at mercilessly.
4) If you smoke, it's easy to ask for a light or a cigarette. It really depends on the situation and your intentions. But I find Spaniards less likely to strike up conversations with total strangers than their US counterparts.
5) Just use the Usted form, and the odd señor or señora
6) Depends what they offer. A firm No, gracias is usually enough.
Hope that helps. Any other opinions?

#52133 - 04/05/02 03:53 PM Re: Culture questions....
taravb Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Ames, Iowa, USA