Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#45455 - 04/29/06 10:51 PM Spanish slang?
Bindi Offline

Loc: Healdsburg, CA
Hi there! I've never been to Spain, but I have a question for anyone Spanish and/or anyone familiar with Spanish slang, specifically used by people 20-30 years old. I am a fiction writer and one of the characters in the book I'm working on is from Spain. He's based on someone I knew once, but lost contact with, kind if a crazy guy. What I am wondering is, is there a Spanish slang for girlfriend? Also, is there a slang word for the drug ecstasy? And how would you say "angel of deliverence" in Spanish?
Lastly, I was wondering what pop stars a young hip urban Spanish guy might listen to? Someone who sings cool love songs?
Thanks for any help, and for anyone whose tips I use, I would be happy to mention you in the acknowledgements section of my book--I can work out getting your name later.
Thanks!
Bindi in California

#45456 - 04/30/06 06:51 AM Re: Spanish slang?
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
Novia (girlfriend): churri, ligue, rollo,...
Drug ecstasy: subidón
Angel of deliverence: I don't know what you mean rolleyes Is it the one who passes your character drugs? If so, in slang is camello.

Fernando

#45457 - 04/30/06 11:39 AM Re: Spanish slang?
Bindi Offline

Thanks, Fernando. Re: angel of deliverence, I was referring to something my character said to his girlfriend-- he called the ecstasy pill "angel of deliverence." I just don't know how to say it in Spanish.
Is there a slang word for Heaven?
Thanks again!
wave Bindi

#45458 - 04/30/06 02:21 PM Re: Spanish slang?
quique Offline

Loc: alcala de henares
Some other slang words

Girlfriend: Piba.

Bad trip: pillarse un amarillo.

Ecstasy pills: Pirulas, rulas. The pirulas are called depended on the drawing they have.

#45459 - 04/30/06 10:32 PM Re: Spanish slang?
La Artista Offline

Loc: Portland, Oregon