Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#45120 - 05/04/05 06:00 PM Madrid - Leaving in a month, a little scared
MadridGirl273 Offline

I am a third year college student going to Madrid on June 1st to study and live for 2 months. I have directly enrolled in the Universidad Complutense Summer School and made my own living arrangements.

As the time to leave is drawing near, I am becoming more and more nervous and anxious about the language, travel, etc. I have studied spanish for seven years, but I am not fluent.

If anyone has any suggestions/advice/etc. regarding ANYTHING about living in Madrid (University City) I would so appreciate it - where to do laundry, what to do during the day (I will have a month before classes start), how best to practice my language skills, how to meet people, what guides to use. Thank you so much, I really appreciate anything.

Lindsey

#45121 - 05/04/05 06:31 PM Re: Madrid - Leaving in a month, a little scared
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
Don't be anxious! Madrid is a big and cosmopolitan city where is very easy to fit in.

Ciudad Universitaria is a district where most colleges are placed. It's to the northwest of Madrid, and 15 minutes away from the town center by subway.

You know enough spanish to deal with most situations. Besides, spaniards are very tolerant with language problems (we are very used to tourists, and appreciate any effort made to speak spanish).

where to do laundry: there are plenty of laundries along the city. I'm sure you won't have any problem to find one. Ask your neighbours where to find one! They are called "lavanderías" or "tintorerías".

what to do during the day: visit museums, monuments, walk through the city, try some restaurants, go to the theatre, to the cinema, have a swim bath in a local swimming-pool, look around the shops, go to a bowling, to discos or pubs,...