Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#44787 - 10/08/04 06:52 AM Planning for Madrid's Universidad Complutense
Super Martínez Offline

Loc: University of Missouri
Hola. This is my first post here on MadridMan's forums, so I'll do a quick introduction:

Born in the United States, my mother is Spanish and my father an American. My first language is Spanish, because that's all my mother spoke when I was little (they dont call it lengua materna for nothing). We visted Spain every summer, for nearly the whole summer (my parents were teachers, summers were mostly off and my abuelo paid for nearly the whole trip).

Currently, I am a student in a small engineering university in Missouri (University of Missouri-Rolla). Small, small town. Boring, boring engineering.

For the past few years I have felt something nagging. Like I'm not in the right place. Homesickness, you could say. But all my comforting nostalgic thoughts are not of my house in the USA, but rather of my tia's house in Toledo. Not just the house, of course, but of the whole culture that I partially experienced in my homelife and of the whole country and society. I've been dwelling on these feelings lately.

So! The point: I've decided to cure myself by going straight to the source. I'm making plans for next year to study abroad at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid . Three of my cousins go the school and I have an open invitation to live at their apartament. Seems perfect, right?

There are a few problems: this small university in the middle of nowhere Missouri doesn't exactly have much the way of international programs. It's pretty much all run by one man. Though I have been able to find out that our meager program does have UCM on their list, I don't know what else to expect this one man to do.

I made an appointment with him for next week, and I dont want to be caught unprepared. What do I need to do/have before I start making plans with him?