MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#44174 - 04/30/03 02:49 PM spanish university degrees
emilyka Offline

Loc: Pamplona
Hey yall-

I am wondering what kind of consideration a degree from a Spanish university would have in the U.S. I am studying Filologia Hispanica and while I´m sure it´s fine if I want to stay in Academia, but I´m, not sure if my degree would do me any good in any other realm. Anyone have any experience with this sort of thing?

Emily

#44175 - 04/30/03 05:19 PM Re: spanish university degrees
SRedw Offline

Hi Emliy,

I was told by a Spanish professor at my former university that a MA in Spanish from a university outside of the US is fine, but a Ph.D. needs to be done in the US, if you plan on teaching in the US. Many people have conferred this. If any one else has any other type of experience with this, please let me know.

I, personally, am getting out of academe all together because I am tired of grading papers and hearing and correcting the same mistakes. It get old after a while. For me, there is no more joy in teaching. Remember, that this is my personal opinion of the teaching field.

Shawn

#44176 - 04/30/03 08:46 PM Re: spanish university degrees
Melinda328 Offline

Loc: Madrid
I go to a respected university in New York and one of our professors holds a PhD from an Argentinean university. All the others have American degrees, but I know at least one has never attended school here.

Melinda

#44177 - 05/01/03 02:42 PM Re: spanish university degrees
SRedw Offline

But, was that professor from Argentina originally? Many Americans HAVE TO DO their coursework for the Ph.D. in the US because it is an uspoken rule of thumb that many Ph.D. programs in Spanish-speaking countries are inferior to ours.

Hey, this is what is thought in many academic circles.

Shawn

#44178 - 05/01/03 11:49 PM Re: spanish university degrees
Melinda328 Offline