Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#43971 - 10/11/02 02:32 PM University classes in spain vs.the usa
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I will be studying in Granada next semester at La Universidad de Granada. All of my classes will be with other spaniards eek (however I will have a tutor through CEGRI, a private language institute). I am really really excited about it, but also a very nervous about taking all the classes as a regular student with all spaniards (as opposed to other study abroad students). Has anybody done this, or know what the differences are between classes in spain, usa (grading systems, tests, papers, size, expectation...etc).
Any advice as to what to expect would be great! laugh -Kelly

#43972 - 10/14/02 04:54 AM Re: University classes in spain vs.the usa
Meg Offline

Loc: Madrid via Pennsylvania
Two years ago I studied at the Universidad de Salamanca and found out the the Spanish university system is very different than that in the USA. The classes I had were all lectures where the professor just stood there and read or talked the whole hour and the students said very little or nothing at all. There's no emphasis on class participation like there is in the US. You basically have to copy down everything the professor says because often there are no books for classes so the only material you have is your notes. This takes some getting used to even if your Spanish level is high because it's hard to write down everything, so you may want to try to borrow a Spanish friend's notes to make sure you have all the information. Class attendance is not mandatory and many people just get the notes from friends then show up on the day of the exam and pass the class.