Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#41749 - 04/30/04 12:13 AM TEFL needed for a credentialed teacher?
atchie96 Offline

Hi everyone, I am a California credentialed teacher with two years experience teaching English as a Second Language and Spanish. I am moving to Spain in September with hopes of teaching English. I was wondering, is it necessary to also have a TEFL certificate?

#41750 - 04/30/04 01:14 AM Re: TEFL needed for a credentialed teacher?
salamanca02 Offline

Loc: usa
Hi Atchie96- your post caught my attention. I too am planning on going to Spain in September with hopes of teaching english.. where in california are you from, i am from there as well...anyways, if have been doing a lot of research on teaching, programs, etc...so maybe since we are planning on the same thing...we could help each other out, share some ideas..etc.

Kathy-California

#41751 - 04/30/04 05:34 PM Re: TEFL needed for a credentialed teacher?
atchie96 Offline

Hi Kathy, I am in San Diego. My boyfriend and I are packing up & going over in Sept. We are thinking about Valencia since we have some friends there. We too have been doing research, it's mind numbing! My biggest question is whether it would be useful for me to have a TEFL since I'm a credentialed teacher. I was thinking of taking a course but they are expensive, and I would rather save myself the money!

#41752 - 05/05/04 04:23 AM Re: TEFL needed for a credentialed teacher?
Chica Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid
Hi atchie96 and salamanca02 --

I have been teaching here in Madrid for the past 3 years and thought my response to your question might be helpful.

If you are a credentialed teacher in the US, particularly with ESL experience, then no, a TEFL certificate is not for you. The TEFL is desgined for those who are interested in teaching English, but have no background in doing so.