Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#41512 - 05/30/03 11:45 AM Advice please......
Ianr Offline

Hello all. smile What a great site this is. Im in much need of some advice/suggestions regarding living/working in Spain (either Madrid or Barcelona). Im looking to come over in mid-June. My main concern is that, as yet, i cannot speak any Spanish. Not too keen on taking any old job like digging holes/bar-tending, where i assume little/no Spanish would be required. I have 12 years sales experience working in London and 6.5 years (late 1996 until last month) living/working around the world, mainly in the US. Had to return to London last month, but i still have no desire to live/work here. I thank you in advance and look forward to hearing from anybody with some info.....Cheers and TTFN

#41513 - 05/30/03 12:22 PM Re: Advice please......
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
So you're of English citizenship? If so, you can of course work legally in Spain. And if you'd hope to get a job in sales where you're experienced, I'd have to think Spanish would be required since the clients would most likely be Spanish. Even the English-language newspapers in Spain are operated by relatively small offices and I'd imagine those jobs are precious what with the sagging economy and high unemployment in Spain.

I hate to say it but teaching English might be your only option - at least in the beginning. If you start out with this you can look for other jobs at the same time. Sorry I couldn't help more. Good luck to you!

Saludos, MadridMan

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#41514 - 05/30/03 12:39 PM Re: Advice please......
Ianr Offline