Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#41247 - 09/21/02 08:37 PM Madrid:Job & Lodging?
Alexander Offline

Loc: Rio de Janeiro
Hi guys!

First of all I would like to say that this site is really great.
I'll be taking a postgrad course at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in November, but I still don't have a place to stay. Any suggestions?
I am Brazilian, but I've got the EUROPEAN PASSPORT(Portuguese)...I guess it helps when looking for a jog, doesn't it? I've got a degree in English and some experience in the USA (courses). I've been teaching English for about 5 years here in Brazil.

I've got US$2,500 to spend 6 months in Madrid. Is that enough? That should be paying for food and accomodation. I do really need your opinions because I haven't got any idea how expensive life is in Madrid... Is 2,500 dollars enough for 6 months ( November - April ).

Please have you got any suggestions for accomodation around the Complutense de Madrid ?
What about food? How much does one usually spend on it a month?
What's the exchange rate US DOLLARS to EURO?

Hope to hear from you all.

Thanks a lot,
Alex

#41248 - 09/24/02 08:52 AM Re: Madrid:Job & Lodging?
Bricamb Offline

Loc: Cambridge UK
Alex, Sorry to say this but I think you would really be struggling to get by on $2500 for a six month stay in Madrid. However, I am sure you could supplement your income easily by giving English classes or other part-time work if its available. Prices in Madrid have risen over the past few years and costs there can be comparable to any large Northern European city. Is there any way you could take more money with you?

#41249 - 09/24/02 02:40 PM Re: Madrid:Job & Lodging?
Chica Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid
Hi Alex --