Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#38351 - 02/24/03 05:05 PM Automobile Safety
YUKONJOE Offline

Loc: Anchorage, AK
My wife and I are relocating to Spain next fall. Can anyone offer advice regarding safety precautions to take when traveling by automobile.
Muchas Gracias
confused

#38352 - 02/27/03 08:52 AM Re: Automobile Safety
MAD for Madrid Offline

Loc: Madrid
Don't drive too slowly and, obviously, always wear your seatbelt. The driving too slowly thing sounds weird, but seriously, people on the roads here go quickly and if you are too slow you might cause an accident.

But, I've been driving here for 6 months after relocating from NYC (and not having driven for 10 years) without issue. The same road rules apply - just use common sense and you'll be fine.

#38353 - 02/27/03 09:28 AM Re: Automobile Safety
Miguelito Offline

There are a lot of advises in this forum, try to use the search function with words like driving, etc.
About the speed, the maximum in towns is 50km/h, although in some main streets people exceed it.
In highways there's a minimun of 60km/h but I think you should never go under 90km/h, although the maximum is 120km/h lot of people go much faster. In big cities like Madrid people is a little bit agressive. Also people use to forget doing the turn left and right signals.

#38354 - 02/27/03 07:19 PM Re: Automobile Safety
YUKONJOE Offline