Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#3774 - 03/06/02 10:15 AM Albergue Juvenil in Jerez de la Frontera
palice Offline

Loc: Prague, Czech republic
Anyone stayed in this youth-hostel? I would be glad to hear any comments; one thing that did surprise me is that when I booked by phone I did not have to put in any credit card details, just name and was told that I have to make a confirmation two days in advance. Is it usual or should I be more cautious to get some sort of confirmation from the youth-hostel? I was reeeeeeally happy to book the room for us as the whole Jerez looks fully booked for the time when we go so it would be good to be sure the room will be available! Thanks.

#3775 - 03/06/02 01:05 PM Re: Albergue Juvenil in Jerez de la Frontera
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
While I'm no expert with Spanish youth-hostels "Albergue Juveniles" in Spanish), I am a little surprised they required you to confirm 2 days in advance. Well, maybe because of the Horse Festival, eh?

May I/we ask how much was the youth-hostel bed per person? Did they say how many people each room will accommodate? Sounds like it'll be full.. take your ear plugs so the snoring in the next bed from you, 3 feet away on the next bunk, doesn't keep you away.

Short youth-hostel story: Stayed at one in Zurich, Switzerland in 1992. Got up in the middle of the night, almost stepped on the guy's arm in the bunk bed below me as I got down, went to the bathroom, came back, and realized I'd forgotten my key to the bedroom so I had to knock several times until one poor man sleeping in my room, one of 16 I think and the one closest to the door, woke up and let me in. Keep in mind that the snoring/heavy-breathing/talking-in-sleep and late-night arrivals can be a bit too much if you're a light sleeper.

Well, at least you got yourself a bed. Have fun!

Saludos, MadridMan