Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#36129 - 03/07/04 08:31 AM When returning home......
QueenBeeNY Offline

I am realizing now I have a problem! I leave at the end of April and came to Spain with 2 full suitcases and now will have no room going home. Should I spend the money to ship items home or spend the money paying the airline to add another suitcase?
Thanks!

#36130 - 03/07/04 11:24 AM Re: When returning home......
la maestra Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Tucson, Arizona
When I left Spain years ago after a very long stay, I just left behind all my old clothes and anything that I could easily and cheaply replace in the US, saving room for only those wonderful things that can only be found in Spain. The woman I lived with knew of people who could use whatever I chose to discard. Just a thought!

#36131 - 03/07/04 12:40 PM Re: When returning home......
Chica Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid
When I studied in Spain umpteen years ago and returned home after a year, I shipped all my books (I love books!) and winter clothing (coat/boots, etc) back by boat. I tossed out/gave away all the clothes that were easily replaced.

#36132 - 03/07/04 02:43 PM Re: When returning home......
Booklady Offline
Executive Member

Loc: U.S.A.
In my last trip to Spain, I followed Rick Steves advice and traveled light, as a result I only had a carry-on suitcase. Like La Maestra, I proceeded to leave behind all of my clothes except what I would wear the next day on flight, thus enabling me to take with me part of my purchases. The rest, primarily paper, books etc. I mailed home. But this was expensive, but well worth the bother of toting all sorts of stuff along. I also had bookstores mail my books for me, that helped.

I recently purchased a light durable canvas-durable fabric blend that unfolds into a rather large bag. I will take with me to use on my return trip for those darling shoes that I MUST buy in Spain! laugh