Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#35668 - 10/07/02 12:30 AM prescriptions ?
SFOHoya Offline

Loc: San Francisco, California
Hello,

Will I be able to refill prescriptions (written by a doctor here in the U.S.) for birth control pills, allergy medicine (Claritin), etc. while abroad in Spain ? If not, will I be able to get a new prescription issued by a doctor in Spain or can I just get my medicines straight from a pharmacist? Has anyone had any difficulties obtaining the medicines they need?

Thanks so much for your help!

#35669 - 10/07/02 01:04 AM Re: prescriptions ?
GranadaGirl Offline

Loc: Maryland via Connecticut, USA ...
I would recommend that you bring with you any specific medicines, such as birth control pills or Claritin that you may need while in Spain. I did this myself when I studied there a while back. If you're in need of antibiotics, then you shouldn't have a problem getting them from a pharmacy, but any specific brand-name stuff may be a problem.

I would also recommend you get the generic/pharmaceutical names of the medicines (i.e. rather than Sudafed, it would be psudoephedrine...) you normally take and ANY YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO. They don't have the same name brands as us, so even if you could get allergy medicine at the pharmacy, they most likely won't know our specific name brands. I was sick a few years back, and it took $40 worth of phone calls to my dr's and pharmacist back in the US to get those names straightened out!!

I'm not saying they don't have the same medications in Spain as we do here, you can probably get them for a lot cheaper, but the names are most likely going to be different, particularly the birth control pills (I'm not sure how those work over there). I also doubt that a prescription written in English by a US dr is going to be worth much in a pharmacy in Spain.

Anyone have any more info?

#35670 - 10/07/02 05:40 AM Re: prescriptions ?
MadridMan Offline