Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#24299 - 09/25/05 12:20 PM Best Barcelona neighborhoods?
la capoeistra Offline

Loc: Detroit
oye- I am heading to spain in December- i used to live there 5 years ago and this is my first time back. I am sure the neighborhoods have changed. I was wondering if anyone could let me know where the best neighborhood in Barcelona is. By best I mean minimal american tourists, lots of art and punks. Any advice will be much appreciated. gracias

#24300 - 09/27/05 07:04 AM Re: Best Barcelona neighborhoods?
filbert Offline
Executive Member

Loc: London
Hi, the one time I stayed in Barcelona I was fortunate to be located in the Gracia barrio. It's far enough from the centre to avoid too many tourists (although Parc Guell attracts a few, understandably). You have quite a few small easy-going plazas to relax in and take a drink. There seemed to be quite a lot of foreign restaurants (especially Middle-East) to make a change from Spanish and Catalan venues.

#24301 - 09/27/05 09:50 AM Re: Best Barcelona neighborhoods?
Dave B. Offline

Loc: Lancaster, Ohio USA
La Capoeistra:

Are most of the tourists in Barcelona Americans? Do you want to avoid tourists in general, or just American tourists? I'm just curious....

I see that you are from Detroit. That city's downtown is making an amazing comeback!

Regards,

Dave B.

#24302 - 09/30/05 01:29 PM Re: Best Barcelona neighborhoods?
la capoeistra Offline

Loc: Detroit
Dave b -
I don't mind tourists so much as drunken frat boys-you know what i'm saying? I am looking for a more leftist punk vibe than a super commercialized barrio complete with a Mcdonalds and all. I heard El born is cool...any suggestions? i am going with man who has never left the states and i want to make sure he is properly exposed to espana. Vale.
Ciao- La capoeistra

#24303 - 11/03/05 05:39 AM Re: Best Barcelona neighborhoods?
angeles1 Offline