Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#12444 - 03/29/02 02:59 PM Spain:bus transportation
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I am studying in Spain this summer, and traveling around for about 2 weeks after the end of the program. How is the bus system there? I know it is cheaper then the train, but how do they compare in regards to quality and efficiency. Is it better to just pay the extra and take the train? Thanks for the advice!!

#12445 - 03/29/02 03:48 PM Re: Spain:bus transportation
Guapetona Offline

hi,

spanish bus companies are very efficient and the buses/terminals themselves are beautiful compared to what i've seen in the us. the majority of them are produced by mercedes-benz. i think you will be pleasantly surprised by the difference.

last year some family members visited from sevilla and we drove to florida..we decided to fly back to dc as noboby wanted to drive back. there were no air tickets to be found so our only option was to bus it back. wow, were they shocked!! eek eek

we rode greyhound back and they were absolutely miserable not to mention frightened! it stopped frequently, people were loud and rude, the bus terminals were filthy with horrible food, there were no television sets with movies, no radio channels, not to mention the buses were dirty and ugly-looking with uncomfortable chairs.

so, yes there is a definitely a difference between the bus lines in spain and in the us. by the way, there is also a company out of madrid that travels north that has first class bus tickets...leather seats, a waitress with drinks and snacks, and the paper is offered. i do not know the name of the company off hand but the link below should help. there is also an enormous difference between the rail system here and in spain...BIG difference as well. here's a link with all the bus companies for the country just scroll all the way to the bottom:
Bus Companies of Spain