Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#44085 - 02/18/03 11:32 PM Best city to study Spanish
Katha Offline

Loc: San Diego, California
Hi, everybody,
I just found this board today, and so far I LOVE it! I plan to go to Spain in April for a Spanish course, and I am looking for a city in Spain where the locals DON'T want to speak English as a second language! The reason why I ask this, is because, when I go to Mexico, everyone insists on speaking English with me. (They won't speak Spanish, since I look like the gringa/Anglo that I am!) I have even gone into stores, spoke in Spanish, and had people answer me in English, and my Spanish is fluent...I am a bilingual teacher (English/Spanish).

I have the choice between Barcelona and Granada. Does anyone have opinions? Thank you!

#44086 - 02/19/03 05:27 AM Re: Best city to study Spanish
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I am spending this semester in Granada!!! I also spent last summer in Bilbao. I really love both cities, but they are soooo different! I also have a couple catalan friends in Barcelona, and was just there last weekend, sooooo for what it is worth- heres my thoughts on this. All 3 cities are great places, but for a place to study spanish, there are some things you should think about.
I really would push for Bilbao, BUT if you have to decide between Granada and Barcelona? I would choose Granada hands down for a couple reasons..