Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#43585 - 01/24/02 04:20 PM bringing castellano home
elfroggy27 Offline

Loc: Fort Worth, TX, USA
I am thinking about finishing up a second degree in Spanish next fall, and I would like to do this abroad. I am not fluent in Spanish, and I know that immersion would be the most effective way to accomplish it. I am a nurse, and I know that learning Spanish will be very helpful. Ideally, I want to study in Spain - I spent some time there a few years ago, and can't wait to return. However, a few of my professors have encouraged me to study in Latin America instead, because most of the patients I will work with will be of that origin (I live in Texas). Do you think the differences between castellano and american Spanish are so great that I would be at a disadvantage learning in Spain? I know this is probably a biased group, but I would love to get some insight into any experiences you may have with this. Thanks!

#43586 - 01/24/02 04:55 PM Re: bringing castellano home
breibach Offline

Loc: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Here is my 2 cents. I have lived in Texas (15 years in San Antonio) and I have studied at immersion shcool in Spain. I had no problem communicating with the Mexicans upon my return from Spain (althought they did laugh at the lisp... I studied in Andalucia) Also you know that there will be diffrences such as the Mexicans don't use vosotros. In Spain they use coger (to catch) all the time and you will want to avoid this with your mexican friends. Good luck

#43587 - 01/24/02 05:20 PM Re: bringing castellano home
taravb Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Ames, Iowa, USA