Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#42308 - 07/10/05 05:34 PM RELOCATING TO SPAIN ... BLINDLY! ..gulp!
Aye Offline

Loc: california
Hi everyone-
I'm heavily considering moving to Spain in the coming months. I was born in Madrid, but have lived in the US for over 24 years. I'm a citizen of the US and have no family in Spain (at least that i know). When i move, i do it blindly and just jump through. Unfortunetly, this is a bit different from jumping state to state to open restaurants. I am a very successful executive Chef in the states (NYC, DENVER, LOS ANGELES). I'm scared to leave everything behind, although i'm not attached to anything here, but my dog .. who is coming with me. I've been thinking about this move for quite some time and am convienced this is my destiny... at least for now smile . The problem is .. I don't know where to begin! How much money should i have in my pocket? how can i get a job? where should i live? argghhh.... decisions, decisions. Would it be easy for me to get working permit b/c i was born in Spain?
alex

#42309 - 07/10/05 06:32 PM Re: RELOCATING TO SPAIN ... BLINDLY! ..gulp!
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
Why don't you open a restaurant? smile

Fernando

#42310 - 07/10/05 09:17 PM Re: RELOCATING TO SPAIN ... BLINDLY! ..gulp!
Aye Offline

Loc: california
well here i've been asked to open a few. I don't know Madrid's demographics and don't know what kind of food is in demand there, plus no tengo mucho DINERO. frown

#42311 - 07/11/05 08:43 AM Re: RELOCATING TO SPAIN ... BLINDLY! ..gulp!
Puna Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Charlotte, NC. U.S.A.
Aye,
Couple of thoughts -
1. Are you fluent in Spanish - both verbal and written? If not - what is the level of profiency, if at all? Being able to converse is crucial if you are hoping to make the move even somewhat financially comprable -