Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#41143 - 06/28/02 08:04 AM Volunteer work in Madrid?
SandraZ Offline

Loc: Madrid
Hola! My husband and I have been living in Spain for almost a year now and we love it. One problem though, I can't legally work and am getting bored. I'd love to volunteer somewhere, but have been told by many who've tried that its not really possible for foreigners (due to language difficulties I suppose). My Spanish isn't great, but I manage and I'm studying. I figure volunteering will help me improve faster than just sitting in classes. Any ideas?? I'd consider just about anything, but my passions are working with immigrants and/or public health issues.
Thanks!

#41144 - 06/28/02 04:28 PM Re: Volunteer work in Madrid?
Chica Offline
Executive Member

What about organizing a blood drive for the expat crowd?

You could also contact your local parish or church, alot of volunteer work is done through the church...

#41145 - 06/30/02 05:10 PM Re: Volunteer work in Madrid?
katrina Offline

I just recently joined the American Women\'s Club in Madrid and saw they had a post on their bulletin board looking for volunteers. They close next week until September, so give them a call quickly if you decide to. I've also come across websites for international volunteering. But, all of the organizations require a fee for the administration. The other thing I would recommend, is contacting the local branch of a international organization like Amnesty International , Green Peace , Unicef , Red Cross , etc... Good Luck!

#41146 - 06/30/02 05:37 PM Re: Volunteer work in Madrid?
pim Offline

Loc: Brussels
Sandra,
I can recommend Plan Internacional .

Saludos,

p

#41147 - 06/30/02 06:49 PM Re: Volunteer work in Madrid?
SandraZ Offline

Thanks for your ideas Pim, Chica and Katrina! Katrina, I'm a member of the American Women's Club, but haven't been by the clubhouse in a while. Thanks for the tip!