Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#41424 - 02/20/03 08:29 PM Job Opportunties in Madrid
00chris Offline

I'm currently a college student but very soon will have a B.S. degree in Computer Science with a minor in the Spanish language. I've studied abroad in Spain before and am interested in finding out what types of job opportunities may be available to me there, particularly in Madrid.

Anyone have any good advice for me about working in Spain? I know English-Speaking schools hire a lot of Americans, however I don’t hold a teaching degree. Perhaps though I could work for an educational institution as a systems administrator due to my Computer Science Degree? What other types of jobs may be available to me there?

#41425 - 02/20/03 08:40 PM Re: Job Opportunties in Madrid
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Hello 00chris! Welcome to our ALL SPAIN Message Board. smile

It's not stated in your profile but you mention English-speaking schools hire Americans... does this mean you have citizenship in the USA? Also, I believe the majority of native speakers teaching English in Spain are from the UK, mainly because they don't need a work-visa to work in Europe but Americans and others do.

You need to know that computer-related jobs are scarce in Spain these days since the worldwide tech-sector industry took a nosedive a few years ago. These jobs are almost exclusively for the many looking-for-work, young, freshly-out-of-college Spaniards willing to work for low wages and happy to get it. Sad but I believe this to be true. Just ask madrileños like Fernando or Antonio here on the message board.

You can get an idea of the kinds of jobs available throuh the usual online job-search websites. Seems to me those jobs in Spain pay about 1/3 of what they pay in the USA.

Good luck! You have a tough road ahead.

Saludos, MadridMan