Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#41396 - 02/02/03 11:08 AM conversation classes
emilyka Offline

Loc: Pamplona
Hey yall,

I am studying in pamplona and am lamenting being an expatriate money vacuum for my parents. I have taught english here before but it was to little kids. Anybody had experience giving conversation classes to adults? Topics? Techniques? Thanks in advance to anyone who can help,

Emily

#41397 - 02/02/03 04:35 PM Re: conversation classes
barry Offline

Loc: sóller, mallorca, spain
OK. I don't want to come over all tecnical, but first of all, conversation clases are not just about sitting down and chatting, whether it be about the weather or a relevant newspaper article.
Your students want to learn something. So, by all means, think of a topic, but think it through and decide what vocabulary one would need to discuss this topic. And then expressions for agreeing and disagreeing. Listen to yourself for a few days, and you'll see what I mean. In fact I'll send you my own list. It's more than "I agree" or " I disagree". Shoot them if they say I AM agree.
But it's things like:
Of course, but don't you think ....
Well, I wouldn't go that far...
Up to a point maybe...
Blah Blah Blah
Then choose a topic, brainstorm yourself all the vocab you need to constructively discuss it.
For example if you're going to discuss LOVE this Valentine's Day, make up a list of vocab from your own experience. Listen to yopurself talk about the thing over the next few days. Watch Sex And The City - well maybe not - and make up a handy hand out with phrases like:
I'm really into guys who...
I can't stand girls who..
What really turns me on is...
Fling
One night stand
Unrequited love
I fancy...

And so on.
Give your students a list of provocative statements or proverbs about the subject, put them in pairs and then have them report back to the general group and discuss..
For example:

Love is blind
All men are pigs