Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#35487 - 04/26/02 12:16 PM international phone cards
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I am studying in Spain (Bilbao) this summer and need to find a good international phone card. Can anybody recommend a certain type? Where can I get these, should I buy one before I go, or wait until I get there? What about a cell phone?

#35488 - 04/26/02 02:22 PM Re: international phone cards
Antonio Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid (Spain)
If you are living with a host familiy then see if they are willing to hire Telefonica\'s Plan USA 15 for you. With this special offer you only pay 15,03 euros per month and you can talk up to 15 minutes everyday to the USA.

If that is not your case, then I would ask at the nearby "locutorios" how much they charge per minute for calls to the US. I used different international calling cards in England and I was thinking all the time I wasn't getting the minutes I should (read the fine print because these cards usually have hidden charges).

Another solution could be to use an internet cafe for PC to PC calling

#35489 - 04/28/02 06:36 PM Re: international phone cards
Meg Offline

Loc: Madrid via Pennsylvania
When I studied in Spain my parents got a calling card through MCI WorldPhone for me to call home with. The rates are good on the weekends and evenings which worked out fine since due to the time change I usually only called them on the weekends anyway. I think it worked out to about 8 or 9 cents a minute; however, these rates are only good when you're calling your home number in the U.S. So basically this card is only good for calling your parents because if you call another phone number with it they'll charge you a lot more per minute--my mom got extremely mad when I called my boyfriend with this card because the rates were so much higher!

#35490 - 04/29/02 09:12 AM Re: international phone cards
JDR Offline

Loc: asturias