Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#29675 - 10/26/02 05:56 AM Madrid:Authentic Flamenco dancing?
irita Offline

I will be in Madrid next week. I would very much like to see authentic Flamenco dancing. Does any one konw off a good place that has real dancing, not necissarily for tourists only?

Thanks

#29676 - 10/26/02 07:50 AM Re: Madrid:Authentic Flamenco dancing?
Antonio Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid (Spain)
Uhm, I'm not an expert on flamenco but, unfortunately, many tablaos flamencos in Madrid are for tourists. After all, flamenco origins are in Andalucía, not in Madrid.

A good place I heard of is Las Carboneras . It's one of the newest ones and they are trying hard to be among the best.

Andrés from Walks Of Spain probably knows more about the subject than me. I think he recommends La Soleá at Cava Baja, 34. Can you tell us more about it?

By the way, I found this page with some comments on the flamenco places in Madrid.

#29677 - 10/26/02 11:53 AM Re: Madrid:Authentic Flamenco dancing?
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
As Antonio says, all those flamenco tablaos open to the public are going to be for tourists. Afterall, they're a business and want to make money. The ones that are not open to the public are... well.. NOT OPEN to the PUBLIC. hehehe...

We enjoyed a great (and long/late) night at Café de Chinitas last Christmastime but have also heard very good things about the popular Casa Patas . These two places are wildly popular and always full and the meals are a bit expensive too (at least for us).

When you go and then return, will you please come back here to this/your thread and tell us which one you visited and give us a quick review? Hope so. Thanks!!

Saludos, MadridMan

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#29678 - 10/26/02 12:32 PM Re: Madrid:Authentic Flamenco dancing?
Candela Offline