MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#17991 - 09/09/00 11:47 AM silly madrid trivia
*margarita* Offline

Loc: northern ireland
hey there
i'm a travel writer and i'm just writing up a (very complimentary) article on the wondrous madrid. thing is, i want to know if anyone has any random facts about the city... really bizarre things, like the invention of the clothes peg, or the world's first gorilla zoo?
cheers

#17992 - 09/09/00 02:50 PM Re: silly madrid trivia
rgf Offline
Executive Member

Loc: New York, New York
I have no idea why you'd want to include bizarre things about madrid like gorilla zoos-- really! Why not include interesting trivia like: the geographical center of Spain (and Madrid) is in the Puerta del sol, with the marker for kilometro 0. Everything is measured from there out. That's pretty interesting-- that the capital city is simply the geographic center of the country, no?

#17993 - 09/09/00 03:24 PM Re: silly madrid trivia
*margarita* Offline

Loc: northern ireland
but the kilometre zero for france is paris... i fail to see why this is so interesting, it's just the same old nonsense. i want to add something endearing, novel, about madrid, rather than the same old nonsense.

#17994 - 09/09/00 03:47 PM Re: silly madrid trivia
rgf Offline
Executive Member

Right, gorilla zoos are not nonsense. Apparently you didn't uinderstand that Madrid is the geographic center. The king literally marked the center of the map and plunked the capital. That is, Felipe II moved the court (and set the capital) of Spain to Madrid in an aribtrary gesture of locating the center point of the land known as Spain. Of course, this probably IS non-sense to you, interested as you are in clothespins and gorillas, but unless you write for HELLO, perhaps your readers would find it of interest.

[This message has been edited by rgf (edited 09-09-2000).]

#17995 - 09/09/00 11:41 PM Re: silly madrid trivia
Nuria Offline

Loc: NJ, USA