Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#17665 - 08/08/08 10:25 AM Question about Transportation between cities
maggie2008 Offline

Loc: ohio
Hi, I am planning a trip to Spain in May of 2009. I have been to Europe before, but with a tour group. This time, I am going with my boyfriend, on a self-paced trip. I plan to fly into Madrid and have daytrips to Segovia and Toledo. From there I want to go to Cordoba, then Seville, then to Granada. I'm not sure if we should by railpasses or just point to point tickets. I am very new to this and Just need a little (really a lot) of guidance. Thanks

#17666 - 09/01/08 09:00 PM Re: Question about Transportation between cities
sel Offline

Loc: Columbus, Ohio
Hi fellow Buckeye!

I have always travelled ticket by ticket and have never had a problems although I do usually purchase tickets on the AVE a few days in advance. Toledo you can either use the train or the bus. We have found the buses to be a great way to get around!

#17667 - 09/02/08 03:13 AM Re: Question about Transportation between cities
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Hello fellow BuckeyeS!!!! thumbsup

That's true what sel says. In some cases, buses CAN BE the way to go because A) trains don't go there (to the smaller villages) or B) they're usually cheaper than trains.

But going from big city to big city, trains are usually much faster. And although a little more expensive but much more comfortable, I always prefer train travel in Spain.

I hope to take a short trip from Madrid to Córdoba just next month and went to Granada from Madrid a few months ago. It's so darn comfortable and so much nicer than going by buses because you have the restrooms (plural!), a dining car, you can get up and walk around easily, the seats are bigger and the leg-space is longer too.

Enjoy!

Saludos, MadridMan