MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#91373 - 07/29/12 01:52 AM Madrid Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Latest Blog Entry: "Madrid Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa"

Everyone knows MadridMan LOVES flamenco dance and music. So Friday night was special as it was my first visit to Madrid's Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa, located on the northwestern corner of the Plaza Santa Ana, the building's ground floor façade has beautifully hand-panted tiles (from 1915-1920) depicting different landmarks in Madrid and Andalucía, Spain.

I've witnessed flamenco dance in just about every tablao in Madrid so I consider myself a bit of a critic. I'm not an expert, mind you, but I can spot good flamenco dancing when I see it - and Friday night's performance did not disappoint. A "tablao" is the venue at which flamenco is typically witnessed - and Madrid has many. (Read on, McDuff...)

Saludos, MadridMan

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#91374 - 07/29/12 07:35 AM Re: Madrid Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa [Re: MadridMan]
pedmar Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Morbihan, France
looks pretty as flamenco does. And yes tablaos are nicer as the famous already are too touristic and take away the originality and spontanenous act of the dancers.I think

#91378 - 07/29/12 04:51 PM Re: Madrid Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa [Re: pedmar]
esperanza Offline
Executive Member

Loc: New York City
I am so glad you were able to go to Villa Rosa. As you know,MM, when I was in Madrid in June, I was able to go there too. I was pleasantly surprised at how good the show was and how beautiful the building is. I agree with you that the price is right for an abbreviated show and a drink. It is perfect when you want to experience Andalucía and Flamenco but you aren't going further south.

#91382 - 07/30/12 09:46 AM Re: Madrid Flamenco Tablao Villa-Rosa [Re: esperanza]
Bill from NYC Offline