MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#71268 - 03/05/02 05:23 PM Studying English in England
Antonio Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid (Spain)
I know this is very off topic but Madridman has allowed me to post this in the Classified & Personal Forum. I'll delete it once I get the information I need.

I have a friend who wants to go to England to study English. Her problem is that she doesn't know where to start. She knows very little about the country and I thought those of you who are living in England could be a great help.

I studied there myself two years ago. I stayed in Norwich, Brighton and Bath. Although I was always trying to see positive things in every city, I wouldn't recommend Norwich. In fact, some of my customers have laughed and are amazed that I went there. I'm still wondering why.

Well, I can give her lots of tips from the point of view of a Spaniard always looking for the best when it comes to learn English. However, I just have the knowledge of the cities above and I would like you to comment and suggest other places.

I heard Bournemouth has the highest number of schools after London. Would it be a good place?. I know there is a member from there?. What could you say about it?.

Shes is thinking also of Brighton, Bath, Cambridge, Oxford, Canterbury and... I think that's all the cities she has in mind. I heard of a good school in Chelteham & Glouscester (sorry for the spelling).

It would be great if you could tell me about the size of the cities you recommend, whether they are adecuate for a young person (she just finished her law studies at the university).

She's also thinking of working there. It's well known that working in a pub as a glass collector or in a McDonnalds is easy to find. Would it be hard or impossible to find a job or a work experience in something related to her career (law)?.