Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#85829 - 11/27/09 04:36 PM Catching up on Spanish movies...Belle Epoque
teachertraveler8 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Detroit, Michigan
Last night, I finished the movie "Belle Epoque" (I think that is the correct title. I know it came out in '92, but I am a newbie here. Has anyone else seen it? What did you think? Was it truly so deep that each of the four women represented an aspect of the Spanish government in the pre-Civil War days? (I read that in a review on Amazon and thought, "Wow, I just thought they were four sisters!") I did enjoy this movie, so if anyone has any other recommended films, let me know!

#85832 - 11/27/09 09:29 PM Re: Catching up on Spanish movies...Belle Epoque [Re: teachertraveler8]
steve robinson Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Hastings Old Town , England .
Well , that film I´m assuming is French ( from the title ) . If you really had to immerse yourself in Spanish language/culture I would suggest Pedro Almodóvar . Spain´s most prolific director . ( MM and I have had the privilege of being in his presence ! ) . Whilst I understand Spanish very well , I usually put up the English subtitles . Listening to the Spanish and reading the English is a great way to learn the language . I´d also recommend the films of Guillermo de Toro ( Mexican I think ) .. El Laberinto de Pan ( Pan´s Labyrinth ) and El Orfanato ( The orphanage ) .... Scary ( both ) but spectacular . Once you have a reasonable level of Spanish a great way to get better is listen to Spanish radio ... <it can be difficult but it´s a great way to learn .
I have a big collection of Spanish films ( some that are no longer available ) .. One of my favourites from the 80s is "La Estanquera de Vallecas " ( Vallecas is a blue collar neighbourhood of Madrid ) .. It´s so funny ! But the language is colloquial .

#85835 - 11/27/09 11:46 PM Re: Catching up on Spanish movies...Belle Epoque [Re: steve robinson]