Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#69984 - 03/12/07 04:30 PM El Laberinto del Fauno (Pan's Labyrinth)
Jo-Anne Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, Eng...
Has anyone else seen this film? What did you think?

I went to see it three weeks ago in my local, tidgy, cinema. It was on for one night only and extra chairs were brought in from the surrounding pubs to accommodate everyone!

I was utterly captivated throughout, and have even bought it on DVD (I've never done that before).

#69985 - 03/12/07 04:45 PM Re: El Laberinto del Fauno (Pan's Labyrinth)
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
I'm DYING to see this movie. (okay, not literally!) As you know, it was nominated for LOTS of Goya Awards and won a number of them too. They say it's a kind of metaphor for the Spanish Civil War but not having seen the movie I can't yet understand what that metaphor is. The few scene-clips I'd seen made me squirm in my seat with "ooooohhh... I've gotta see that!"

What?? You've bought the DVD ALREADY? It's ALREADY on DVD???? I wonder if it's available here in Spain then. Maybe so. I can watch it with the much-needed subtitles.

Saludos, MadridMan

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#69986 - 03/12/07 06:34 PM Re: El Laberinto del Fauno (Pan's Labyrinth)
Jo-Anne Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, Eng...
Yes, I didn't know it was nominated for anything until after I'd seen it.

It's certainly very special, and I am going to tell you nothing about it, because it needs you to watch it with no clues or preconceptions. Try not to read too much about it before you go - or look at too many images either.

It's beautiful and horrifying and mystic and sad and very very real - although a lot of it is fantasy. There, none of that makes any sense and I'm sure wont spoil anything for you gotcha