Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#65874 - 09/14/00 04:20 PM Spanish films in Madrid
Catherine Offline

Loc: Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Hello everyone...I just found the message board and am thrilled at all the advice and debate.

I am going to be studying in Alcalá de Henares this fall and spending a few days in Madrid before I move into the university residence there. I am studying Spanish film and was wondering if anyone could suggest any good films out now in Madrid or any bars that screen local filmmakers' works, etc. A couple of years ago I saw some Spanish films at Cuatro Caminos but it seemed like most of the theaters around the Gran Vía showed only American movies. Is there a perception that Spanish movies belong in "art" theaters? What are everyone's views on Spanish films, aside from the Almodóvar phenomenon?
Thanks,
Catherine

#65875 - 09/15/00 12:53 AM Re: Spanish films in Madrid
ilovemadrid Offline

Loc: Hawaii
They show Spanish movies all over Madrid. Although it may seem like only American movies, there are many Spanish ones as well. I saw "Todo sobre mi madre" in a theater near the Plaza del Callao. You should pick up a copy of the Guia del ocio from any kiosko, there is a pretty complete list of the movies and theaters in the Madrid city and comunidad.

#65876 - 09/15/00 07:14 AM Re: Spanish films in Madrid
El Boqueron Offline

Loc: UK
You want to see some Spanish films? Well, when you get there, don't miss the TV program "Cine del Barrio" (it's on one of the national channels, Nuria or Antonio might know which). They show these old Spanish movies, often from the 60s and 70s, and they get the actors/actresses who appeared in them to come on the show. The guy who presents it is kind of camp, and the films...Hombre, que risa!

#65877 - 09/15/00 01:55 PM Re: Spanish films in Madrid
steveaqui Offline

Loc: Inglaterra
Catherine

Have a look at these:
Pedro Almodovar's: