Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#63118 - 12/10/02 11:35 AM moving to spain
janlo Offline

Loc: quebec
Maybe this topic should have been in "working in spain", but this is more than just working, maybe i could call this "living in spain" ?

This is my first post by the way, and im glad to have discovered this board.

I'm 25 years old, from Quebec province. I ve made a 2 month trip to spain last summer, from north to south. Always liked travelling, felt in love with Spain in my last trip, can speak castellano pretty well, not perfectly though.I studied and working now as a graphic designer.
And like my title said, i was thinking about moving in Spain next year, for at least one year... but i dont know where !
So is if theres any of you guys have some suggestions, and could answer some of my questions, or just put some links that could help me...
- Where to move? Good and bad things of each cities? ( i know its a big question, but i ve seen plenty of cities and comunities of spain... i still dont know wich one to choose. I liked them all. I woulnt live in a small city though.)

- good and bad things of living in Spain

- The costs of an appartement depending of the cities and location? ( which city or region is the cheapest / expensive)

-Is it easy to find an appartment well located, next to the center, or should i move more to the suburbs where its more affordable and easier to find?

-find jobs? easy? Like i said i dont speak spanish perfectly but i can handle conversations. Since im there for only one or 2 year,a job in graphic design would be perfect though, but i ll start with anything.

- jobs: what are the working hours ins spain.. i ve heard it was from 8 to 6 , or 9 to 7... And what is the minimum wage of salary in the country?

- Barcelona: do i have to speak Catalonian to live and work there? I know that they are all good in spanish, but for a long term stay, should i learn the language?