Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#59759 - 03/06/01 10:17 AM Madrid here I come!
druship Offline

Loc: Chicago, IL
What an inspiring board! I've been checking in on this site for a few years (talking about going even longer) and this summer I finally am doing it: 32 nights in Madrid, from 14th June to 16th July!

My multi-phased, multi-year plan begins this summer with taken a 4-week intensive Spanish class (I am already conversant and wish to improve my profiency; I'm hoping to not speak English at all for a month). The language school I decided upon (EUREKA) is located about 1 block from Sol and also offers studios for accomodation (location, location, location). I will be sure to let the board know my impressions of the school. So far, it is very positive.

I have seen many posts on current fashion for women, but not as many for current fasion for men. Any suggestions here would be appreciated.

Also, any personal experiences, travelogues, etc. to get me in the mood, help me prepare for the unexpected, I don't know...I'm just so excited to finally put this plan in action.

Part 2 is to look for paternal relatives (my grandparents are from Spain); part 3 to stay for an extended time period (3 - 6 months, and for the cynics, NOT with my newfound relatives)and take an even more intensive Spanish class, getting as close to fluent as can be expected for that time frame ; part 4 to (of course) look for work in marketing, project management, etc... Part 4 will obviously be the hardest (teaching English is not for me). This is not on my immediate radar, though.

I don't even know what advice to ask for this part 1 trip; I'll take any and all hints, suggestions, tricks, traps, etc. And, of course, continue to scour these boards...

Thanks!

#59760 - 03/06/01 01:03 PM Re: Madrid here I come!
Nicole Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Los Angeles
Good for you! I am so envious!