Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#55007 - 08/19/04 07:48 PM service in spain
zman Offline

Loc: anacortes
I just returned from 5 months in spain. I stayed in hotels and ate in restaurants except for the month of april where we rented an apartment. Overall I must say the service in the restaurants was very poor. I know the spanish hardly tip at all and I think that is the problem because there is no incentive to give good service. Occasionaly I could not get waited on at all and I left. 4 or 5 times I could not get them to come back to my table for another drink or to give me the bill so I left with out paying. I have never done that before. Sometimes the servers just vanishes or is outside screaming into his or her movil. It was very frustrating. I know it is a different culture and they have different values but... Really the servers get paid the same whether the place is busy or not so why would they encourage more people and therefor more work. Really I love the spanish culture and people but this issue really frustrated me. Also in the north of spain in the basque country the service was good and the food also. I wonder if anybody else has had the same experience?

#55008 - 08/20/04 01:10 AM Re: service in spain
super lau Offline