Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#86390 - 01/22/10 10:34 AM Differences in language ( Spanish-English)
steve robinson Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Hastings Old Town , England .
This always makes me laugh... and has done since I started studying Spanish aged 13 ( more or less )... A friend of mine ( Irish) who lives here and speaks incredible Spanish ! Is suffering from a bad cold ( Constipación in Spanish ) .... Yeah !! English speakers , especially , will have got my meaning ! I remember a business teacher here in Madrid ( from London ) saying that when she had a cold and was in class , one of her pupils asked if she had "constipación" .. She was shocked ( didn´t know the word ) but was , like , constipation ? How can you tell ... feeling her butt jajajajaja... it´s just a cold , really !

#86391 - 01/22/10 02:42 PM Re: Differences in language ( Spanish-English) [Re: steve robinson]
teachertraveler8 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Detroit, Michigan
That's funny, Steve. When I was in high school in the US, I was late for Spanish class one day. I told my teacher, "Lo siento, estoy embarazada". (For those who don't know, it means, "I'm pregnant", not embarrased.) I love teaching about false cognates.

#86392 - 01/22/10 02:47 PM Re: Differences in language ( Spanish-English) [Re: teachertraveler8]
steve robinson Offline
Executive Member

Hahahahahahaha ...

#86393 - 01/22/10 06:31 PM Re: Differences in language ( Spanish-English) [Re: steve robinson]
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
Good anecdote, teachertraveler8. I rather imagine the Latin origins of those two words, "embarrassed" and "embarazada", are probably very similar or the same.