Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#83933 - 03/04/09 08:11 PM iberia american codeshare- seat selection, etc.
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
Wow it has been a long time since ive been on these boards, probably at least a year! But you all were so much help when I studied in spain in 02-03, and again when I visited in 06 that now im back again begging for more help! :-)

Im taking my dad and uncle back with me this time. Im flying Austin-Chicago on American Airlines then connecting to Iberia Chicago-Madrid. Booked the entire thing through American. Dad and Uncle are meeting up with me for the Chicago-Madrid flight. So my question is this.... is there a way to pre-select seats??? American says they cant do that on an Iberia flight and Iberia says they dont do that either. Is my luggage checked all the way through or am I going to need to recheck in Chicago????

Anybody have any experiences flying American-Iberia connections?

Kelly

#83934 - 03/04/09 11:56 PM Re: iberia american codeshare- seat selection, etc. [Re: kelar419]
Mongo Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
I have taken the ORD-MAD flight a few times, out of Minneapolis. I remember having limited success by calling Iberia a few days before flight time and inquiring as whether my preference for an aisle seat was honored.(It was) I believe they do work off your expressed preferences. Call Iberia a few days ahead. As an American gate agent once told me when I was having problems with my Iberia flight at O'Hare, "it isn't REALLY One World." That trip was one for the books!

You can check your bags all the way through with no problem.

On the plus side, you can order little bottles of cava off the drink trolley!

#83935 - 03/04/09 11:57 PM Re: iberia american codeshare- seat selection, etc. [Re: kelar419]
la historiadora Offline
Executive Member