Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#81050 - 11/15/04 11:27 PM is there teaching burn out?
Avril Offline

Loc: Athens, Georgia(UGA), USA
Hello, I'm a Freshman in college(at UGA, go dawgs, boo war eagles) and I know I have time to decide but I have the personality that I want to know now and I don't want to waiste valuable years in my undergrad schooling deciding on majors. My current major is spanish, which I love so much! I do plan on adding another major but I also plan on keeping spanish as a double major. I want to be a professor and I know I don't want to teach younger kids, professor or not at all. Hence, I have to get my Ph.D. I'm ready! I know they say some jobs get old, does teaching? I want to teach for a while but have other options too. I love to travel, I'm a people person, and I love languages, I also like to lead/direct. Have any double major useful suggestions or any advice otherwise about being a professor. I thought I'd ask the education people out there cause it has been weighing on my mind. If you can help I'd love it!

#81051 - 11/16/04 04:45 PM Re: is there teaching burn out?
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I'm combining a spanish degree with a speech science degree (im a senior), and hopefully next year will be attending a grad school studying bilingual speech language pathology. Theres a large need for bilingual speech paths in school districts across the country. so if thats something your interested in definitely look into it.
www.bilingualtherapies.com
www.asha.org
As far as teaching, getting a PhD. Thats something I really strongly considered doing (if you do a search you could probably pull up those old posts and see what people had to say).
In the end I decided it wasnt for me because I want to be in a clinical or school setting and really want to work with people, social service aspects and helping them overcome things.