Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#80771 - 04/01/03 11:48 PM jitters when speaking infront of class room
Quintos233 Offline

Loc: Southern California
I get really nervous while presenting stuffin front of class since I hear some of you are teachers do you have any tips to calm your self down when reading long speeches in front of class my english teacher just assigned one that I have to present friday rolleyes .

#80772 - 04/02/03 03:40 AM Re: jitters when speaking infront of class room
Jo-Anne Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, Eng...
Hi Quintos233

I totally sympathise with you. I am a born again student rolleyes

Several times recently I have had to stand up and talk in front of my year group of 50, and give a presentation. Not something that my previous life has prepared me for.

It's not something I am good at, or enjoy, but I do find that if I know what I'm talking about it helps! I know that sounds obvious, but if you understand your subject, it's one less thing to worry about.

If I haven't a clue what I'm talking about, even if I'm reading it, I am absolutely rubbish frown and can't get the intonation right, let alone the words rolleyes

Will you be reading, or talking ad lib, or answering questions? Or all of these?

It does get easier, I have to say. The more you do it, and the more you see others doing it, the less you worry.

Not much help, I know, but just remember, everyone else will be feeling equally as nervous I'm sure, you're not alone. Just become ultra familiar with your topic and you'll be fine.

Good luck cool

Jo

#80773 - 04/02/03 03:59 AM Re: jitters when speaking infront of class room
Bricamb Offline

Loc: Cambridge UK