Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#7079 - 06/04/04 12:56 AM Info on Host Families??: PLEASE PLEASE HELP
Heidigirl Offline

Loc: Canada
I had posted a message before, but sadly I got no replies....sniff sniff frown
I am going to spain next year, and I don't know ANYBODY there...I would prefer to stay with a host family for a couple of months to at least a year in order to slowly integrate myself in the spanish culture and improve also my spanish....but where can I find ANY info on spanish host families??? No au-pairs or anything of that kind though....
thank you so much, any help is appreciated!

#7080 - 06/04/04 01:24 PM Re: Info on Host Families??: PLEASE PLEASE HELP
la maestra Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Tucson, Arizona
If you are still in school, you could find out about exchange programs that would link you up with a host family. I found a place to stay while I studied at the University of Madrid, but I would not call that a "host" situation as I paid rent!

What had you planned on doing when you got to Spain? Do you have a job lined up? Once you start work/school I'm sure you'll feel less lonely!

#7081 - 06/04/04 02:12 PM Re: Info on Host Families??: PLEASE PLEASE HELP
Heidigirl Offline

thanks for the reply smile ,
I am going to be done with my studies next year in april. I am going to be taking a TEFL course in Madrid next year and then will start (hopefully) teaching english in spain in the later months (I live in canada but have a german passport, i.e I am a EU resident). I need a place to stay and I am wondering where to find a good cheap place....what's better, an apartment or a host family? I don't know anybody in spain yet with whom to live and share costs!!!

#7082 - 06/04/04 04:28 PM Re: Info on Host Families??: PLEASE PLEASE HELP
la maestra Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Tucson, Arizona