Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#61793 - 04/01/02 05:37 PM Blending in with the locals:)
kelar419 Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Texas
I am studying abroad in Spain this summer (Universidad de Deusto). Anybody have any advice on typical spanish dress? I don't want to stand out as an American if at all possible:) laugh

#61794 - 04/01/02 06:31 PM Re: Blending in with the locals:)
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
Something americans never realise is that you will look american no matter how you dress or what you do laugh

What's more, there is nothing wrong with it smile You will meet more people and perhaps catch a girlfriend/boyfriend if they realise that you are different.

But to ask your question: We dress in a very similar way. You may fine tune your dressing when you come here, buying some clothes (and asking for advice to a spaniard).

Enjoy the experience!

Fernando

#61795 - 04/01/02 11:25 PM Re: Blending in with the locals:)
Guapetona Offline

differences are that clothes tend to have a more tailored look, emphasis on flowing color combinations, clean lines, accessories are big. trends/styles come from europe (nyc is the exception) so spain is at the front of what is hot now..check these spanish fashion clothing, shoes, jewelery sites out..i love to shop in spain..its less expensive, high quality and you know what you are buying won't hit the streets in the us for at least a season..or two..and in the case of camper shoes..years!! wink wink

Camper

Zara

Mango

Cortefiel

Tous

#61796 - 04/02/02 06:13 AM Re: Blending in with the locals:)
Eddie Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Phila., PA, USA
kelar419 writes:
Quote:
Anybody have any advice on typical spanish dress? I don't want to stand out as an American if at all possible