Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#57196 - 08/12/07 04:19 AM 5.1 EARTHQUAKE in Spain! I felt it!!
MadridMan Offline

Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain (was Columbus, O...
I felt it!!

An 5.1 earthquake, which lasted about 5-seconds, took place at roughly 9:47am this Sunday morning. Its epicenter was in Ciudad Real but the shocks were felt here in Madrid and as far away as Valencia.

Here I was typing on my computer when its waves rocked our building back and forth. It wasn't very strong but I was certain it was an earthquake, never having felt one before, but from the movement's motion. (plus I have a Geology degree) So I threw on my clothes and opened the doorway to the building's stairway and stood there like an idiot for a few minutes, possibly expecting aftershocks earthquakes. They never came, thank goodness. And no damage to the building was immediately evident either.

Some people here thought it was an underground gasline explosion but MadridMan knew better. hehehe.... (so full of himself) Now I can proudly say (?? Proudly??) I've experienced my first authentic earthquake - and it was here in Madrid of all places on the world.

Any other Spaniards feel/experience it?

Read the El País article about it HERE . "Un seísmo de 5,1 sacude varias ciudades de España - El epicentro ha sido localizado en Ciudad Real.- La sacudida ha afectado a prácticamente todo el país"

Saludos, MadridMan

Curious about what could POSSIBLY be inside the brain of MadridMan? Visit MadridMan's Madrid Blog

#57197 - 08/12/07 03:09 PM Re: 5.1 EARTHQUAKE in Spain! I felt it!!
Valenciano_en_Madrid Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Majadahonda (Madrid)
It seems that I was sleeping like a log. I didn't feel anything.

#57198 - 08/12/07 11:58 PM Re: 5.1 EARTHQUAKE in Spain! I felt it!!
Bill from NYC Offline
Executive Member

Loc: New York City
MadridMan

Congratulation living through your first Spanish Quake.