Tour Madrid with MadridMan! BACK TO
MadridMan.com!
Sponsored Links

Topic Options
#55613 - 02/16/05 05:57 PM pre-birth baby gift customs?
granada94 Offline

Loc: West Haven, CT
What are the customs for buying an expecting mother a gift prior to the child's birth? I know that the family has been purchasing outfits in white not knowing the sex of the child (due in May). THis is a very dear friend and a family that I adore. Please help me not to insult!

Debbie

#55614 - 02/19/05 12:19 PM Re: pre-birth baby gift customs?
jghaddock Offline

Loc: United States
I am also interested in this topic. I am hosting a baby shower for someone in the states with a Spain theme. Does anyone know of traditions in Spain regarding baby showers or the like? Thanks!

#55615 - 02/19/05 02:48 PM Re: pre-birth baby gift customs?
Fernando Offline
Executive Member

Loc: Madrid, Spain
I'm not an expert in this topic (someone correct me please if I'm wrong) but I would say that here is not normal for friends to give gifts before birth (yes for the family, not for the friends).

It is more normal to give a present after the birth. The gift depends on your relationship with them and what you want to expend.

Fernando

#55616 - 03/02/05 06:51 PM Re: pre-birth baby gift customs?
granada94 Offline

Loc: West Haven, CT